Cyprus is situated in the eastern Mediterranean and is the third largest island in the area, covering 9,250 km² and enjoying more than 330 days of sunshine each year. The island has a rich history stretching back 10,000 years and although it is a small island it has a diverse topography which includes mountain ranges, two salt lakes and numerous Blue Flag awarded beaches, offering an excellent environment for a range of sports. Also, this diversity means that Cyprus is rich in flora and fauna.

The capital of Cyprus is Nicosia, which remains the only divided capital in the world and its other main towns are Limassol, Larnaka and Pafos. The Ammochostos region contains many of its most popular beach resorts, whilst the Troodos Mountains run like a spine across Cyprus.